Diane Nobles 2023 Howard Kay Award Recipient

Diane Nobles, member of the Narragansett School Committee, was honored with the 2023 Howard Kay Award at the Rhode Island Association of School Committees (RIASC) Annual Meeting on April 29, 2023.

Named after the late Newport school committee member and public education advocate, Howard Kay, the Award is given annually to a school committee member who has exhibited outstanding leadership in public education.

Diane has served as a member of the Narraganset School Committee for 18 years, and has served in various capacities, including Policy Review and Negotiations subcommittees.  She has also been the Vice Chair, Clerk, and Parliamentarian. Diane has also exhibited dedication to ongoing professional development, as evidenced by her graduation from RIASC’s Leadership Development Academy, and her 158 hours of RIASC professional development, as a member of RIASC’s Master’s Academy. 

Fellow Narragansett School Committee member, Alexander Menzies nominated Diane, and as he presented the award, he stated, “Diane has proven to be an exemplary leader and mentor.”

Diane has stated that her one reason for continuing to pursue her passion to serve on the school committee is to ensure that every student crossing the stage to receive a Narragansett High School diploma has the knowledge, skills, and abilities to be successful in whatever they endeavor.